Computer classes

Nelson Public Libraries hold a variety of free computer classes each school term, for beginners and more experienced users who may want to venture further into the digital world, extend their research skills or learn about the digital services the Library offers.

Classes must be booked by phoning 03 546 0414, emailing library@ncc.govt.nz or visiting any of the Libraries.

Elma Turner Library classes 9:3011:00am
Basic Internet Thursday, 30 July
Ebooks and audiobooks Thursday, 6 August
Facebook for Family History Thursday, 13 August
Tablets (bring your own) Thursday, 20 August
Entertainment apps (Kanopy, Spotify, Netflix) Thursday, 27 August
Health - trusted sites Thursday, 3 September
Safety online Thursday, 10 September
Research & Library databases Thursday, 17 September
Stoke Library classes 8:159:15am
Tablets for beginners Friday, 14 August
Ebooks and audiobooks Friday, 21 August
Entertainment apps (Kanopy, Spotify, Netflix) Friday, 28 August
Safety online Friday, 4 September
Basic internet 1 Friday, 11 September
Basic internet 2 Friday, 18 September

Important info

  • Booking is essential as class size is limited
  • Elma Turner Library classes are held in the Learning Centre
  • Please leave your name and contact number if you wish to be on a wait list
  • Classes are limited to 7 people at Elma Turner Library and 5-6 people at Stoke library except for the Tablets classes where use of your own device is preferred

Class info

Basic Internet on Library laptops

Access the web. Basic searching techniques and good websites to use.

Tablets

For all tablets users. A chance to learn a few tips, new apps & more on your own device.

Research Tools (for experienced internet users only)

Search for information from many sources in the ‘deep web’ not accessed by Google. The Libraries’ Research databases are explored.

eBooks/audiobooks

Download Libby and Borrow Box & start reading and listening to e-books and audiobooks for free with your library card.

Social Media

Facebook, Instagram and others –  Q & A session.

Entertainment Apps

Do you use Netflix, TV on Demand, Lightbox, Kanopy, Neon and other movie or music apps? Find out what you can use to watch TV/movies.


Classes are limited to 7 people at Elma Turner Library and 5 people at Stoke library except for the Tablets classes where use of your own device is preferred.