Nelson Public Libraries are open during Alert Level 2. Read more.

Opening hours

  Elma Turner Library Stoke Library Nightingale Library Memorial
Monday 9:30am  6:00pm 9.30am  5:30pm 1:00pm  4:30pm
Tuesday 9:30am  6:00pm 9.30am  5:30pm 10:00am  2:00pm
Wednesday 10:00am  6:00pm 10:00am  5:30pm 1:00pm  4:30pm
Thursday 9:30am  6:00pm 9.30am  5:30pm 10:00am  2:00pm
Friday 9:30am  6:00pm 9.30am  5:30pm 1:00pm  4:30pm
Saturday 10:00am  4:00pm 10:00am  1:00pm Closed
Sunday 1:00pm  4:00pm Closed 10:00am  2:00pm

Closed dates

2021

  • New Year's Day: Friday 1 January 
  • Day after New Year's Day: Saturday 2, Sunday 3 and Monday 4 January 
  • Nelson anniversary day: Monday 1 February
  • Waitangi Day: Saturday 6 and Monday 8 February 
  • Good Friday: Friday 2 April 
  • Easter Monday: Monday 5 April 
  • ANZAC Day: Sunday 25 and Monday 26 April
  • Queen's Birthday: Monday 7 June
  • Labour Day: Monday 25 October
  • Christmas Day: Saturday 25 and Monday 27 December
  • Boxing Day: Sunday 26 and Tuesday 28 December